New web site for INC-Forests in Europe

This website provides information on the work of the Intergovernmental Negotiation Committee (INC) for a legally binding agreement on forests in Europe, upcoming and previous Committee sessions, access to relevant documents, information on the Bureau and its meetings, as well as secretariat contact details.

A platform for the negotiations

The website will be an evolving platform to be used by the members of the Committee during sessions as well as for inter-sessional work. To anyone interested in these negotiations the new website offers easy access to information on the work for a legally binding agreement on forests in Europe.

The mandate

Through the Oslo Ministerial Mandate for Negotiating a Legally Binding Agreement on Forests in Europe, ministers responsible for forests decided to establish an Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee to develop a holistic legally binding framework agreement.

In fulfilling its mandate, the Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee builds on existing FOREST EUROPE Resolutions and Declarations and relevant international commitments relating to forests.

The working modalities of the Committee are specified in the Rules of Procedure.

The committee

The First Session of the Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee for a Legally Binding Agreement on Forests in Europe (INC-Forests1) was held at the United Nations Office at Vienna, Austria, on 27 February – 2 March 2012. At this first session the Committee provided guidance for developing the first draft negotiating text regarding its basic structure, main components and content.

At INC-Forests1, the Committee decided that the Second Session will be held on 3 – 7 September 2012 in Bonn, Germany.

Bureau Mandate

The Bureau of the Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee was established by the Oslo Mandate and consists of the Chair of the Committee and representatives of the following countries: Austria, Czech Republic, France, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Turkey, and Ukraine, and Spain as permanent observer.


In paragraph 21 of the Oslo Mandate, the ministers responsible for forests in Europe nominated Mr. Jan Heino (Finland) for the chairmanship of the Committee

Bureau Members

The following Bureau members were nominated in accordance with the Oslo Mandate:

Mr. Ingwald Gschwandtl of Austria

Ms. Katerina Ventrubova of the Czech Republic

Mr. Jacques Andrieu of France

Mr. Arne Ivar Sletnes of Norway

Mr. Piotr Jakubowicz-Paschalis of Poland

Ms. Alexandra Orekhovich of the Russian Federation

Mr. Ismail Belen of Turkey

Ms. Lyubov Polyakova of Ukraine

Mr. Jose Maria Solano of Spain, as permanent observer

Further INC-Forests information


General Inquiries, Liaison and Communications: INC-Forests@foresteurope.org

Sessions and Documents: INC-Forests@fao.org

Scientific and Policy Advice: INC-Forests@efi.int

Picture 1: Isabel Galiana

Picture 2: Roni Ikonen

Related article: The Forest policy processes in Europe